North Lancashire and South Cumbria Governors


John is the Managing Director of a communications company which he developed over twenty years ago. In this time the company has successfully applied for research funding for projects in excess of £5 million pounds and has worked in consortiums with Lancaster University, Birmingham University, Carillion, Balfour Beatty, Amey and the Transport Catapult.

John has numerous qualifications including an MBA which he achieved at Lancaster University in 2007, an NVQ Level 5 in Business Administration, Lancaster Business Qualification and also undertakes voluntary work. John is a member of the Lancaster Vision Board and has been for 10 years. He has also been a member of Lancaster University Business Liaison Committee for 3 years. John’s interests include family life, football, water sports and walking.


Michael finished work as an Industrial Chemist some years ago.  Since then, he has undertaken a variety of posts, subject to short term contracts, until some 18 years ago when he was offered his present post in hospitality.  Although Michael is now past the usual retiring age he remains strongly committed to the NHS having received wonderful care during his own illness (Acute Myeloid Leukaemia). Michael is also a member of his Church.

Michael is a Parish Councillor and serves on the Executive Committee of the Lancashire Association of Local Councils. He represents LALC and other bodies, including the Hate Crime and Social Cohesion Partnership.  It was in this latter capacity that he became a member of Lancashire Care NHS Foundation Trust.


As a former teacher, School Advisor, Principal Advisor and IT Manager in several NW Local Authority Children's Services, Mary’s professional life has focussed on support to schools and the effective and efficient management of centrally held funding to ensure the delivery of high quality social and education services. Mary has been a School Governor for many years and a Chair of Governors in two local schools and a Governor in a third. Mary is a Parish Councillor and Honorary Secretary of the Lancaster LALC group. She also provides practical support to her parish community through the organisation of local activities.


See also: